From bread, to desk and back to bread again….

I live upstairsHaving seen me sit on the sofa typing away on my laptop, Pasek (who manages the house where I live) decides I need a desk to work on.

One day, out of the blue and with a big smile on his face, he shows me a table.  “It used to be the table they made bread on in the nearby hotel, but they don’t need it anymore” he explains, “you can use it as a desk now because I’ve changed the top of it and repaired and varnished it for you”.

I was as enthusiastic as a kid with a new toy, I was finally going to get a desk, a recycled bread making table at that.

Sure enough the next day when I came home and went onto the balcony there was my new desk gleaming in the hot Bali sunlight.  I’m writing these very words while sitting at the desk overlooking my delightful, tropical garden complete with butterflies, dragonflies, fruit trees and an assortment of sometimes loud wildlife.

Aside from this blog, I am writing some articles and I hope that one of these days they will get published and then, once again, this table will be used for making some bread – albeit of a different kind!

N.B.  If you look carefully on the right hand side of the upstairs balcony you can just see the desk.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

Would love to hear from you...

