A kilo of gold, of diamonds or a kilo of love – which would you choose?

I joined Toastmasters – yes, it’s true that this worldwide club devoted to public speaking has a new branch in my home town of Ubud.   I joined in July 2011 and won a pen for my first speech!  The topic was:  ‘you have a choice… a kilo of gold, a kilo of diamonds or a kilo of love’ – I answered that I would take the kilo of love and I found it easy to speak for two minutes on this topic.  But what would you have chosen?

Ubud Toastmasters meeting 28 Sept 2011
Ubud Toastmasters meeting 28 Sept 2011

The number of opportunities for learning and self-development here never cease to amaze me.  Also the willingness of the Balinese to ‘speak in public’, something that so many people are scared to do in their own language let alone a foreign language, is also worth praising.

Winners!

Winners!

I was the Table Topic Master one particular evening and all the topics I came up with were about Bali so I wore a Balinese style sarong and scarf to be in tune with my theme.

There are four friendly and supportive Toastmasters clubs in Bali.  If you happen to be here and are interested in coming along to check it out please let me know.

Toastmasters meeting 14 Sept 2011

Toastmasters meeting 14 Sept 2011

Leave a comment

Would love to hear from you...

