Recent book launch…

I was really happy with our launch of ‘A Taste of Bali’ at CP Lounge, Ubud on 5 Nov.

Just try and get your fingers at this angle!

Just try and get your fingers at this angle!

I wanted everything to reflect the title of the book so Balinese coffee/tea and Balinese cakes were offered to about 50 guests and we started the evening with a Balinese Legong dancer named Saktu.

Balinese cake next to offerings

Balinese cake next to offerings

Every table had Balinese canang (offerings) and incense and I wore Balinese clothing.

Of course the setting was also very ‘Bali’, as CP’s lovely open space spills out directly onto a rice field.

Legong dancer at CP for our book launch

Legong dancer at CP for our book launch

My co-author Steve Castley and I were interviewed by a good friend, Jen.  We read from our book – Steve reading some of his stories and I read some poems.

We also had musical accompaniment to my poem ‘Meditating’ as Yaniq had merged it into his song ‘Take Me To The Top’.  Hopefully I will be able to upload the video soon and you can see what I mean by this hybrid of a song/poem.

A poem called ‘Smiles for everyone’ was given away free (you can get it here as well: poem)

Anyway, thanks to everyone who came to the launch.  There are some more pics below and more will follow soon….

Of course, if you want to buy the book please contact me or you can get it on Kindle via Amazon as well as in a number of book shops, particularly in Ubud, Bali.  (If you are a distributor or have a bookshop elsewhere please let us know as we would love to get this book available in more outlets – thank you).

Guests at our book launch at CP's, Ubud on 5 Nov 2011

Guests at our book launch at CP’s, Ubud on 5 Nov 2011

Guests at Book launch

Guests at Book launch

Jen interviewing me and Steve

Jen interviewing me and co-author Steve

'A Taste of Bali'

‘A Taste of Bali’

Outside looking in at CP Lounge

Outside looking in at CP Lounge

Leave a comment

9 Comments

  1. Ellen Schafee

     /  05/10/2012

    Hi Julie,
    I love your blog site. Wish I could make the ‘life’s Journeys’ book launch when it happens, but if not, well, I will be there in Spirit, you can be sure of that!

    Love ….. Ellen x

    Reply
  2. f

     /  29/11/2011

    oh oh my…. how i wish i could have been there…congratulations babe…:)))and thanks for “smiles”….smiling now!!!!xxxxxxxxxx

    Reply
  3. carmen

     /  16/11/2011

    Congratulations Julie and my best wishes for the book!

    Reply
  1. Get your just desserts* | Julie in Bali
  2. You are invited to two book launches… in Bali « Julie in Bali
  3. My poetry published in a new book: ‘Life’s Journeys’ « Julie in Bali
  4. ‘A Taste of Bali’ – 2011 book launch « Julie in Bali

Would love to hear from you...

