Christmas developments on my house

The most visually exciting thing to happen over the festive season (2011) is that I ordered five, hand carved, Balinese doors.
My balcony door will be like the one on the left (but more green than blue) the other one is for my main door and for the guest rooms downstairs:

Hand carved wooden doorGuest room hand carved wooden doors

Other developments include the steps being worked on (see pics below), the bamboo supports for downstairs being taken away, window frames were ordered and the wood carvings on the pillars have been decided on.

The start of my staircase

The start of my staircase

Workers taking a break drinking coffee and eating rambutan fruit

Workers taking a coffee break

The Balinese have many Hindu ceremonies but, of course, they don’t take time off for Christmas.  However, I bought the builders a few drinks to celebrate anyway!

Downstairs bamboo supports have been taken away

Most of the downstairs bamboo supports have been taken away

I can just picture the hand carved doors in a Balinese style frame.

Every day brings me a bit closer to living in my Balinese home, a home that is being made by hand – very talented and gifted hands!

Oh, and I almost forgot… when I ordered the doors I took a fancy to a small trinket box that was in the shop.  After handing over my deposit the shop owner kindly gave me, not only the trinket box, but also a bag full of rambutan (tasty fruit like a lychee – only nicer!) – how lovely:

Trinket box and rambutan fruit - for buying doors!

Trinket box and rambutan fruit – for buying doors!

My bathroom door

My bathroom door

As you might of guessed, this blog was posted before Rumah Jepun was finished – to see what it looks like now click here.

Leave a comment

Would love to hear from you...

