Avocado juice – with a drizzle of chocolate!

What do you think?  Does drinking avocado juice sound disgusting or are you tempted, if only out of curiosity?

The Balinese love it but for 2 years I avoided tasting it.  It’s the look of it… a thick green gloop, edged with swirls of deep brown, especially when it’s served in a plastic bag with a straw in the top – it just looked far too squidgy in the bag for my tastes.

I’d never been overly keen on avocado anyway, a couple of thin slices in a salad was okay but a whole glass full in gloopy liquid form – I don’t think so.

On the plus side avocados provide nearly 20 essential nutrients, including fiber, potassium, Vitamin E, B-vitamins and folic acid.  What’s more, they are readily available here and extremely fresh – probably taken straight off the tree in the garden and directly to the kitchen blender for your taste bud’s delight (or not!).

Avocado juice and chocolate

Avocado juice and chocolate

Eventually my curiosity got the better of me and I tried it.  As I put the straw to my lips I tried to ignore the way the pulpy bag felt in my hand as it wasn’t particularly helping me to enjoy this culinary experience.  I fully expected to pull a face and push the bag aside with the words, ‘No, it’s just not to my taste’ – but I was wrong.

I have to admit that I’m a fan of this strange concoction and the only reason I don’t drink it regularly is because there really are a lot of calories in avocados not to mention the chocolate drizzle!

Agung introduced me to Avocado juice... in a cup this time!

Agung introduced me to avocado juice... in a cup this time!

If you come to Bali I recommend giving avocado juice a try – providing it is in season of course – bon appetit!

Leave a comment

Would love to hear from you...

