Many butterflies – and one that changes colour!

I have certain plants that attract the butterflies, so I’m very lucky to see them fluttering and dancing around my garden every day…

Butterfly with a lovely pattern
Butterfly with a lovely pattern
Tan coloured butterfly with an unusual shape at the back

Tan coloured butterfly with an unusual shape at the back

Maybe this butterfly had a lucky escape from being eaten by a gecko:

Maybe this butterfly had a lucky escape from being eaten by a gecko

Hmmm. A tasty butterfly wing

This one changes colour!!!  Really.  Just look at the wings in the picture and you can see the vivid blue on one spot but not the other spots.  In another light, the other spots will turn blue!  Maybe this butterfly thinks it’s a chameleon!

Now it's blue... not it's not... now it's blue...

Now it’s blue… not it’s not… now it’s blue…

Brown on the outside, beautifully blue on the inside
Brown on the outside, beautifully blue on the inside
Sideways view of a butterfly with lovely markings

Sideways view of a butterfly with lovely markings

Butterflies dancing
on translucent leaves
of sunlit gold
distant roosters
announcing the day

A solitary blue bird
sits high on a red roof
her song too unique
for any instrument
to play…

Such a pretty shape
Such a pretty shape
All these pics were taken in my garden except this one…
Tan butterfly that lived on my curtain for two days
This butterfly lived in my house, on my curtain, for two days!
Flap your wings...

Flap your wings…

I’m going to make sure that I have butterfly friendly plants in my garden at my new house too.

I like the leaf that this butterfly has chosen to land on

I like the leaf that this butterfly has chosen to land on

Not a rose between two thorns... but a butterfly between two flowers

Not a rose between two thorns… but a butterfly between two flowers

Yellow butterfly - a little bit fuzzy

Yellow butterfly – a little bit fuzzy

Click here for butterflies caught in the act – I kid you not!

Leave a comment

7 Comments

  1. beautiful picture 🙂 julieinbali
    I love butterfly

    Reply
  2. Thank you so much.

    Reply
  3. Lovely, colourful butterfly photos and I really like the poem. To me it’s evocative of Japanese poetry, simple, beautiful, and sophisticated. The photos and the poem made your garden come alive.

    Reply
  4. Lovely! The blue one really changes color? Amazing.

    Reply
  1. Cicaks and Geckos | Julie in Bali
  2. Butterflies caught in the act – no really! « Julie in Bali

Would love to hear from you...

