Friends visiting from London…

I hadn’t seen Tamsin for ages…. we used to go to the theatre together in London, but that was years ago and in the meantime I moved to Bali and she got married to Tim and they now have a 2 year old boy called Rousseau.  So it was lovely when they came to Bali and we had a chance to spend time together.

Tamsin, Tim, Rousseau with me in my garden

Tamsin, Tim, Rousseau with me in my garden

A trip up to the volcano was great even though there was so much cloud that we couldn’t see the view at all.  However, we enjoyed a buffet meal right on the rim of the volcano, had coffees, teas and hot chocolate at the coffee plantation, saw the view of the rice terraces half way down the mountainside, and went inside the cave at Goa Gajah Temple:

Goa Gajah just outside Ubud

Goa Gajah just outside Ubud

We had some nice lunches together overlooking rice fields in Ubud, even though it poured with rain – well it is the rainy season!

If you look closely you can see two monkeys

If you look closely you can see two monkeys

They visited my place and saw my new house being built and we wandered around the Monkey Forest at the end of my road – what a fabulous tree this is!

Rousseau was fascinated by all the local wildlife… he seemed particularly keen on chickens, ducks, fish, cicaks, bats, monkeys and Roxy the elephant:

Tamsin, Tim and Rousseau on Elephants

Tamsin, Tim and Rousseau on Elephants

They only had a week here, not nearly enough, but at least they got the flavour of Bali and they said they will come back – and I’m sure they will….

Tamsin, Rousseau n I at Ubud Inn where the bat lives

Tamsin, Rousseau n I at Ubud Inn where the bat lives

Oh, and if you like the idea of seeing the big bat just click here

Leave a comment

3 Comments

  1. Maybe if you visit the bat, when you come to Bali, it will take the nightmares away – it really is quite a stunning creature.

    Reply
  2. That bat! I’ll have nightmares for weeks!

    Reply
  1. Farewell to family and friends in London « Julie in Bali

Would love to hear from you...

