Reggae on the beach

A month before Christmas I swapped my book ‘A Taste of Bali’ with Fredi Marley’s latest reggae CD.  Two weeks later Fredi asked if he could use one of my poems, called ‘Bali’, as lyrics for a new song – I was over the moon!

Then, at Christmas, I’m sitting in the audience listening to the band and suddenly I think, ‘Hey, I know these lyrics – Wow, it’s my poem!’.  It was a fabulous Christmas present to have my words turned into reggae music.

Fredi Marley playing Bali, with Yaniq on guitar

Fredi Marley playing ‘Bali’, with a barefoot Yaniq on guitar

I’m sure all ex-pats and even most tourists will ‘get’ the words to the song and the chorus is easy to sing along to as well… ’30 days are not enough, 60 days are not enough, 90 days are not enough, still not enough’.

Nice location to play reggae eh!
Nice location to play reggae eh!

Just yesterday he played at this fabulous beach bar in the Bukit and, for the ‘Bali’ song, Yaniq joined him on guitar.

Reggae on the beach

Reggae on the beach

Fredi can usually be found in Napi Urti’s, Monkey Forest Road, on Monday and Thursday nights, so why not come down (or should that be up – as it’s an upstairs bar), say hello to him and request ‘Bali’… which he has re-named ‘Bali Holiday’.

The original poem, which happened to be the first poem I wrote, can be found here.

And a few other pics are here….

The cliff top lift takes you all the way down to the beautiful beach

The cliff top lift takes you all the way down to the beautiful beach

White sand, blue sky

White sand, blue sky

And the sea was warm too!

And the sea was warm too!


Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. My name on an CD cover… again! « Julie in Bali
  2. Hey, nice motorbike and sidecar « Julie in Bali

Would love to hear from you...

