Why would you need metal rods to make a table top?

Before work even started on my new house, my Balinese project manager, Pasek, showed me a couple of rods of metal that were spare from another project he had been working on.

I asked what the metal could be used for and he explained, simply, ‘For a table top’ – oh yeah, of course!

Metal and concrete kitchen table base

Metal and concrete kitchen table base

After this nugget of information finally reached a part of my brain that was in working order, it dawned on me that I might want to query this – because the link from metal rods to a table just wasn’t immediately apparent to me.

He elaborated by saying they will be used as the base for the kitchen work surface/table… er, okay… but they really don’t look like fixing brackets to me.

Pasek, my project manager, overseeing the work in progress

Pasek, my project manager, overseeing the work in progress

Hmmm, my mind flashes back to kitchen units that I’ve seen here before.

Ahhh yes, they appeared to have been made out of concrete and presumably the metal rods are set inside the concrete for strength, and then smooth ‘granite’ tiles are put on the surface .  Ah, so now I understand – ish!

Well, since that time I’ve witnessed first hand how this is done and indeed the kitchen work surface, with its invisible metal rods, is looking pretty good…

Nearly finished kitchen

50% finished kitchen

In fact the kitchen just needs a few things like a lick of paint on the walls, the cupboards to be varnished, the tap to be plumbed in and a spring clean to wash the construction dust away and it will be ready for action.

One thing I know is that whatever dish is first cooked in the new kitchen – you can be sure that it will be accompanied by rice…

lets clear some space for the rice cooker!

lets clear some space for the rice cooker!

hmmm, I suppose I had better hurry up and go and buy a rice cooker…

My friend Agung - cooking in my kitchen

My friend Agung – cooking in my kitchen

Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. It’s beginning to look like a kitchen! A rice cooker absolutely…and a blender for your avocado juice smoothies!

    Reply

Would love to hear from you...

