Farewell to family and friends in London

It was wonderful to spend time with my family in London and to catch up with so many friends too.

Some of these friends/family have already visited Bali.  In fact last year Paul, my previous boss, came to visit me for a weekend!  Well, he was on a business trip to Singapore and so it’s only a few hours away.

A bottle of red wine to compliment a meal at Thai Square

A bottle of red wine to compliment a meal at Thai Square

While I was in London he kindly took me to dinner at a Thai restaurant – it was delicious and I was happy to see that you can get food served on banana leaves in the heart of City of London – reminded me of Bali.

When I met up with my friend Barbara at a bar in Wimbledon (an area famous for tennis) she was deliberately wearing a bracelet that she had bought from Bali when she came with her husband, Chris.

Yes, I know it is summer but Barbara and I are still wearing long sleeves

Yes, I know it is summer but Barbara and I are still wearing long sleeves

I also caught up with Tamsin and Tim and their son Rousseau who stayed close to Ubud earlier this year – Rousseau still remembers riding Roxy the elephant!

Tim looks set to land a job in Singapore, so I hope to see more of them in future – almost neighbours!

Then, of course, there were some of the SP crowd… SP is short for a club called ‘Social Pursuits’ and, back in the day, large groups of us went on action/adventure weekends together – anything from bungy jumping, abseiling, rock climbing, karting, rafting through to visiting various watering holes around the country… hic!

Talking of watering holes… it was also good to meet up with Chris and Chris at the Angel, Islington and June, Ravi, Paul and Louise, from my old badminton club, for a lovely Italian meal (and Italian wine) in the Barbican.

Catching up with friends at the Yorkshire Grey pub

Catching up with friends at the Yorkshire Grey pub

I’m hoping to see some friends in Bali in future – Viv seems really keen to visit and my sister, Linda, is hoping to come again too – she and Corky loved it when they visited me last year.

(left to right Kate, Becky, Viv, Chris, Linda, Anson, Me, Wendy, Ingrid and Petra)  It was lovely to see you all again – shame I didn’t get chance to meet up with everyone, maybe next time – or you could always come to Bali and stay here!

Leave a comment

4 Comments

  1. Big Sis

     /  17/08/2012

    Hi Julie – lovely photos – you really made great use of your stay in the UK with family and friends and it was fantastic to see you looking so well and happy. Glad too that you arrived ‘home’ back in Bali safely and that all was OK while you were away.

    Love from Big Sis Linda xxx

    Reply
    • Thanks Linda, yes I’m so pleased that I had the chance to catch up with so many friends as well as family while in London. Would you believe it… both Ubud and my house has changed noticeably during my 3 weeks away.. I will blog about it all soon 🙂
      Lots of love
      Julie xxx

      Reply
  1. Where have I been? | Julie in Bali
  2. Throwing away the return ticket « Julie in Bali

Would love to hear from you...

