So much has changed

When I arrived back in Ubud I noticed that not one, but two, new restaurants had opened since I had been away in London for just three weeks.

I particularly like the name of the one called – Icip Ichip (pronounced E chip E chip) – In Balinese this means ‘testing testing’ – not testing the sound system but testing the food.

Then I spotted a brand new convenience store just down the road and opposite it a new shop selling expensive looking items.

Go on... you can do it...

Go on… you can do it…

I went down to the football field to watch the Independence Day celebrations on Friday 17th August (which include marching, band music, and a fun event where kids and adults climb tall greasy poles to reach the prizes hanging from the top of the bamboo poles).

Well done

Well done

On my way back I bumped into Kum, a local singer from a band who haven’t been playing so often recently and guess what, he is now singing five nights a week in a variety of venues – Napi Orti, Lezat and CP Lounge… and CP had changed too – they now have their outside area open for live music and tapas.

And whats this? the old market has changed significantly – they have moved many traders out to a different area because they are developing the traditional market to include more parking facilities, hmmm.

Well, granted, traffic in Ubud has become considerably heavier and something needed to be done, but I’m just amazed that this also happened in the three weeks I was away.

Lots of plants and the grass has been planted

Lots of plants and the grass has been planted

Then there are changes in my own house… the first thing that hit me was the garden, so many new plants have been added and the newly sewn grass has started to develop too.  We’ve just added the stepping stones as well.

Jepun (otherwise known as frangipani) are starting to bloom, many papaya trees are bearing fruit, there are even three kinds of sugar cane growing and some fish have been given a home in the outside pond.

Three different kinds of sugar cane

Three different kinds of sugar cane

Characterful pond

Characterful pond

But the change  I found most impressive was my bathroom, however I will save that for a separate post.

Free the fish

Free the fish

They say ‘What a difference a day makes’, well I say ‘What a major difference three weeks can make’!  Oh, and look below to see what the garden looks like now, in 2015.

Garden from my balcony

Garden from my balcony

Temples in our garden

Temples in our garden

Leave a comment

3 Comments

  1. Julie, the garden is looking great. Thanks for the photos.

    Reply
    • Thanks Shane and even since that photo was taken there have been more frangipani/jepun trees planted (and the avocado is lovingly watered regularly!).
      See you next week.

      Reply
  2. Reblogged this on Miranitha Fasha.

    Reply

Would love to hear from you...

