Doughnuts

Doughnuts  (this one goes out to Tracie)

Strange name…
considering there are no nuts
and no dough
well, no money at least

no shiney silver sixpences like in Christmas puddings
no hidden cash, no cashews
no brazils – Hazel’s or anyone else’s
no peanuts, pecans or pines

no crazy people either
no connection to the nut house
no fruit and nut pairing like you take for granted in chocolate
no chestnut, macadamia nor pistachio

No dough, no nuts - just doughnuts

No dough, no nuts – just doughnuts

no, no
like I said
no dough
no nuts
– just doughnuts

(you had to be there!)

And, in case you were wondering, I took this picture of doughnuts that I bought in Ubud purely to demonstrate this poem!

Leave a comment

4 Comments

  1. Olaf75

     /  19/11/2012

    It’s great Julie

    Reply
  2. Reblogged this on The Literary Gangster and commented:
    After what I’m sure was a very drunken conversation on my part some how through the garble Julie became inspired. And the topic? Doughnuts of course.

    Reply
  3. I LOVE THIS JULIE!!!! I’m sorry I only just saw it for some reason it went to my junk folder. Thankyou and seriously it is brilliant!

    Reply

Would love to hear from you...

