Welcome to my first green chillis

We have many fruits, veggies, herbs and spices growing in the garden – tucked in between the tropical plants.

My first green chilli

My first green chilli

And now my first chillis have shown themselves – they are very welcome as we get through a lot of chillis here – green, red and black ones (well the black ones are actually very dark purple, but from a distance they look black and these particular green ones will turn to red later on).

Did you know that the flowers of the chilli plant face down instead of up?

Then there’s our overloaded tomato plant.  At last count, it had 65 tomatoes at varying stages of ripeness weighing the 6 foot tall plant down.

They don’t turn to a deep red colour, just a yellowy/orange.  They are firm with few seeds inside and they almost taste more like a fruit to me.

Tall tomato plant

Tall tomato plant

We have a vegetable called Bayam that is delicious when cooked as vegetable tempura (i.e. dipped in batter and deep fried – it’s called Bayam Goreng in Bali, click the link for more info and pics).

There’s a constant supply of my favourite fruit from the dozen or so papaya trees in the garden.

Oh no, perhaps my favourite fruit is actually a mango called ‘mana lagi’ – it’s the sweetest variety of mango you can get.

I have it growing in the garden but the tree is very small so I will have to wait a few years for the fruit – same as my avocado trees.

Lemongrass

Lemongrass

Meanwhile the lemongrass is flourishing, many onions have already been eaten and the cabbages are growing well – both the ones near to our eco-friendly compost heap and those far away from it.

There are plenty of banana trees, but the young coconut trees are only just starting out in life and the pineapples and dragon fruit will take a while longer to appear.

Hungry for papaya perhaps?

Hungry for papaya perhaps?

The sugar cane we originally planted didn’t survive.  Maybe we put it in the wrong place, so we have now got some more and I hope it grows so that I can have an occasional nibble of fresh, liquid sugar now and then.

I’m also looking forward to having a mint tea – as soon as the mint plant is a little bigger.

Meanwhile, I fancy a ginger tea… now, where did we plant that ginger???

P.S. If you think I’m green fingered… think again!  This is all down to the teamwork of Pasek, Gede, Ketut and, of course, Yaniq and I thank them all.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

6 Comments

  1. My mouth is watering…especially for the mana lagi! Yesterday I ate a mango here in Minnesota…probably picked green and shuttled 1500 miles on a truck from Mexico. It tasted slightly mango-ish, but with a tart, astringent quality.

    Reply
    • Yeah, when I was back in London I bought a mango and it had the same tart taste, so I know what you mean… probably not a Mana Lagi variety though.

      Reply
  2. shanemac

     /  15/12/2012

    Julie, your organic farm sounds yummy and healthy. In addition, I know it looks beautiful.

    Reply
    • Thank you Shane… I’ve never thought of it as an organic farm before, but I suppose it is in a small way. We seem to acquire new things to grow regularly. By the way the avocado plant you kindly gave us is still small – but steady!

      Reply
  3. Is your green chilly spicy hot? I know some small ones are really nasty hot but I like it .. guess we are used to eating them along with our chinese food. =)

    Reply
    • Hi Simple Guy, the green ones are a little spicy. But as you say, the small red chillis are the really hot ones… the Balinese do have dishes that originate from China – especially chap chay – tasty!

      Reply

Would love to hear from you...

