Tropical Birds of Paradise (feeding a bird from your head!)

We went to the Bali Bird Park – a must see for anyone even slightly interested in beautiful tropical birds.

There are many human friendly birds in the park that you can stroke, hold or sometimes even talk to – ‘Hello Polly’.

Two hornbills on my shoulders

Two hornbills on my shoulders

This amazing bird below, that I think of as a pirate bird (well it has got that look, hasn’t it), can live for over 120 years!!!!….

Century bird!

Century bird!

And then there are the enclosed areas named ‘Borneo’, ‘Sumatra’, ‘Java’, ‘Papua’ etc where birds from those regions fly freely around in a jungle environment.

The Bali Starling is an endangered species, so to see a number of them up close is special experience.

Endangered Bali Starlings

Endangered Bali Starlings

They have displays of magnificent birds of prey – eagles, macau’s, kites etc.

One kite is even trained to take food off of a volunteers head!

This happened to me the previous time I went there.  I was asked to stand up and hold a tray on my head.  The bird handler put food on the tray and, at the signal, the kite swooped down and scooped up the food before I even knew what had happened – the audience applauded but, of course, I couldn’t see what it looked like as I was the volunteer.

Eagle with the trainer

Eagle with the trainer

This time I watched what happened and it is very impressive to see.

After using the tray a few times, the handler then takes the tray away and puts food on your head!  Yes folks, my head became a bird feeder!

Then there are many types of Bird of Paradise (Candra wasih bird).  These are very important in Balinese tradition/ceremonies and I hadn’t realised how many types of these birds there are.  This one was showing off…

Candra wasih bird (Bird of Paradise)

Candra wasih bird (Bird of Paradise)

And here is Yaniq with another Bird of Paradise.

Yaniq with another Candra wasih bird

Yaniq with another Candra wasih bird

So colourful

So colourful

Leave a comment

8 Comments

  1. kuatarina Mount

     /  09/01/2013

    120 years? That’s older than me – Gosh!

    Reply
  2. I love your photo of the Candra wasih! The detailed structure of the wings looks like so many of the woodcarvings I’ve seen here. And the wings are always spread wide the same as this showy bird. Nice!

    Reply
    • Thanks. I think it was in mating mode as it was showing itself off in various ways… including extra feathers rising out of its back that weren’t there before!

      Reply
  3. KathSunga

     /  05/01/2013

    Such a relaxing feeling I guess to feed birds. Hope I can also the same soon.

    Great post by the way! 🙂

    Reply
  1. Cicaks and Geckos | Julie in Bali

Would love to hear from you...

