Get your just desserts*

My last post was about savoury food, and now I’m on a roll…

An odd shaped roll

A turtle shaped roll!

So this is going to be about sweets and desserts.

Balinese delicacies eaten with a leaf

Coconut covered rice and quetela Balinese delicacies eaten with a coconut leaf

From Balinese rice and quetela delicacies that you eat with a coconut leaf, to colourful rainbow cakes eaten with a fork

Rainbow cake

Rainbow cake

Through to piping hot banana fritters, called Pisang Goreng, dressed in ice cream

Pisang goreng (banana fritters) with ice cream

Pisang goreng (banana fritters) smothered with ice cream

and chocolate hens who lay hot chocolate doughnuts – filled with ice cream, yum!

Edible art on your plate

Edible art on your plate

I love the purity of coconut

Coconut shards

Coconut shards

not to mention the sweetness of a plate of pure sugar cane

Sugar... in the raw

Sugar… in the raw

I drool over delicious cabinets of cakes

A selection of succulent sweets

A selection of succulent sweets

and wax lyrical about our famous pancakes at Rumah Jepun

Rumah Jepun's famous pancakes

Rumah Jepun’s famous pancakes

Here I’m eating ice cream from a banana leaf boat at the Green School, made of bamboo

Chocolate ice cream in a banana leaf

Chocolate ice cream served in a banana leaf boat

and below are the selection of cakes we offered to guests at our first book launch for ‘A Taste of Bali’ with co-author Steve Castley, in CP Lounge, Ubud.  What a happy day that was, as I celebrated having my poetry published for the first time 🙂

Balinese cakes next to an offering

Balinese cakes next to an offering

Now this one is special to me too and has a little story attached to it…

Many years ago, when I was a teenager, I remember eating the best pistachio ice cream on the planet.  The flavour was infinitely sweeter and more unique than the taste of fresh pistachio nuts eaten straight from the shell, which I like too!

I had bought it in the Portobello Road Market, Notting Hill, London and I’ve been trying to find something as good ever since.  It eluded me until the other day when I found this:

Pistachio, Vanilla and Chocolate heaven

Pistachio, Vanilla and Chocolate heaven

Ok, it’s not ice cream but boy did it conjure up old and sweet memories (it can be found at the entrance to Delta De Wata supermarket, Ubud – pricey, but worth it for a special treat).

This next one I found a bit too sweet  – even for me!

Sweet 'Tape', before it becomes alcohol

Sweet ‘Tape’, before it becomes alcohol

I prefer Tape once it has been fermented and you can drink it as ‘Brem’!

So that’s a quick round up of some of the desserts you can indulge in and did you spot the deliberate mistake?

…*yes, I know that, ‘Get your just desserts’ should really be spelt, ‘deserts’ – but it just doesn’t look (or sound) right to me!

Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. Savouring the savouries | Julie in Bali

Would love to hear from you...

